Hanns Möhler's Brief Biography

Hanns Möhler was elected in 1988 as the Professor of Pharmacology and Director of the Institute of Pharmacology in a joint appointment by the University of Zurich, Switzerland (Medical Faculty) and by the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich, Switzerland (Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences).

From 2001 to 2005 he was the first Director of the Swiss National Center of Neuroscience (NCCR), the main objective of which is the collaboration between basic and clinical neuroscience and bioengineering, focusing on synaptic plasticity and repair. He is presently serving as vice-director of this Center. He was head of the Center of Competence in Experimental and Clinical Pharma-Sciences of the University of Zurich from 2003-2005.

Since 2004 he has been a fellow of the Collegium Helveticum, an interdisciplinary research institution of the University and ETH Zurich. He was elected to the European Academy of Sciences (Academia Europaea) in 1991 and, since 1996, has served on the board of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

Before moving to Zurich, Hanns Möhler was Associate Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Freiburg, Germany and spent two years at research institutions in the US (Michigan State University) and the UK (Medical Research Council, London). He then joined the Research Department at Hoffmann-La Roche, Basle, Switzerland from 1973 to 1988, where he focused his career on Therapeutic Neuroscience and became vice-director (science). Originally, he had studied Chemistry and Biochemistry with a PhD in Biochemistry in 1968 from the University of Freiburg, Germany. 

He has published nearly three hundred full papers in scientific journals or books, is co-author of a textbook (Biochemistry), and edited or co-edited three books (The Challenge of Neuropharmacology, Pharmacology of GABA and Glycine Neurotransmission, The GABA Receptors). Over the last twenty five years he has ranked among the Highly Cited Researchers and has been included in a list of the 250 most cited scientists by ISI. He was honoured by prestigious lecture invitations and was awarded numerous prizes including the Neuroscience Award of the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology, The Ott-Prize of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences and the Golden Kraepelin Medal by the Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry in Germany.